9th National Assembly: Lawan Sworn In As Senate President

Nigerian Senator, Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan has been declared winner of the election to the office of the Senate President of the 9th National Assembly.

Thr inauguration of the 9th National Assembly leaders comes to and after Senator Ahmed Ibrahim emerged the winner. The election which was presided by Chief Mohammed Ataba-Omolori saw the Yobe Senator scoring 79 votes after ballots sorting.

He has been sworn in as the President of the 9th Senate by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori.

Sani-Omolori administered the Oaths of Allegiance and Office to Lawan before he assumed the seat of the Senate President.

“You now have a seating Senate President. I can no longer hit the gavel,” Sani-Omolori told the senators-elect.

With his election, Ahmad is now to oversee the election of other principal officers of the ninth Senate.

Don’t forget to comment and share